Today’s a heart day


I began my day like I ended it yesterday, obsessing about my blood pressure.

I’ve been on this “kick” for a few days now. I’ve been sick which is what started my vitals checking. I have had pneumonia several times in my life and was reasonably concerned I was headed there. I started with checking my pulse ox to make sure I was getting oxygen and was. Then I fretted about a clot, somewhat reasonable, and this the blood pressure checking.

Once I saw low blood pressure, it was on like Donkey Kong!

In my Google quest, I learned about PULSE PRESSURE. A better indicator of heart health than everything else (in conjunction with your vitals).

Soooooo, as you may imagine, off on another addition to my health OCD.

So for pulse pressure you apparently should be between 30 and 40.

I’ve been as low as 24 and as high as 56.

I think I’m dehydrated which makes a difference. It can also (likely) be the cause of my low Bp.

I see a bit of an elevated heart rate than normal so, I’ll need to drink more fluid today and maintain it.

I’m bad about drinking. I feel full or am busy so I don’t do it as I should. I signed up for a water tracking app in hopes it will help me remember to drink.

So, I have a day of meetings today. My hope is that I can muscle through without “Jonesing” for a Bp reading. Silly right?!

Another thing is clearly I need to get back to exercising. I’m terrified. I’m afraid that will be what kills me.

I see the Doc tomorrow. I’m sure he’s on the edge of his seat waiting to hear my worries THIS time.

He’s a wonderful and amazingly patient guy. It’s a good thing because I’m so sick of myself right now I can’t stand it.

So, up I go. I need to get to my meetings.

Wish me luck and God bless!

Leave a Reply

